Review · Running

Morning Run: A Review

This morning I finally woke up early and went outside to run before work. I waited until after noon to write about it, to see how my body felt after something so new.

I have never been a morning person. I only managed to get out of bed because I agreed to go with someone else. Forced accountability and all. Run gear was laid out the night before to make my morning easy and I even slept in the pants I was going to run in just to use that much less brain power when getting up. 

We started a bit late (his fault, not mine!) so we only managed about 2 miles in 20 minutes. Same Lakefront trail that Im used to. My new run buddy is also significantly taller than I am so his legs carried him further with each step. Bit of a workout just to keep up with him! I had just enough time for a quick shower once I got back home before heading into work. (Frankie got to go back to sleep and I kinda resent him for it.)

I think I survived, though. Day one wasn’t as painful as I thought it was going to be. Work doesn’t feel much different. Maybe a little more energy, but I’m not going to get my hopes up until I know it’s not a fluke. The important thing is Im not struggling against a nap between 10 and 2.

I feel pretty good about having done something before work instead of impatiently waiting until after. I missed running. There is nothing that feels quite like it. I have to get back into a regular run schedule too, with a half marathon coming up in July.

I think this might become a regular thing, as long as Frankie is willing to keep waking up with me. Maybe we’ll start a morning run club. 

We’ll call ourselves “The Regrettables”. 

Leave a Reply

