Calories · Meal Prep

Meal Prep – August 9th and 10th

I fell off and got back on the bandwagon that is meal prep. My weekends got hectic for a while so even though I knew it would save me time and money in the long run, I just didn’t have time to get a lot done. 

Tuesday I finally ran out of food options and had to pay adult money for a lunch. I was not pleased, so I buckled down and decided that I wasn’t going to let time be an excuse anymore. My meal prep buddy is moving out of state so I have no help this time. I decided to keep it simple. Stuffed shells that I’ve made before and homemade uncrustables to please the boyfriend. As soon as I got down to his place, I got to work.

First things first, Grocery Shopping. Super easy list. 

Stuffed Shells: Jumbo Shells, Ricotta, Mozzarella, Garlic, Pasta Sauce. 

Uncrustables: Peanut Butter, Loaf of Bread. We already had Jelly. 

Snacks: Bell Peppers, Tiny Tomatoes, and Popcorn. 

I started the shells first, knowing that we needed dinner that night and Dylan goes over the moon for them.

This is my fourth time making this shell recipe. Next time I’m going to kick it up a notch by attempting to make my own pasta sauce instead of using a jar. 

Grocery shopping plus this one dish ended up taking all the time I had that night to cook so the rest of prep got bumped to Wednesday. 

Wednesday was super laid back. A lot of effort goes into making the homemade uncrustables, but overall its still just making pb&j. I even shortened my own prep time by making three at a time. 

Yes, I cut out each one by hand with a drinking glass. This is how much I love my boyfriend. If these were just for me I’d be freezing whole sandwiches. 

The real problem with uncrustables is all the waste from making them. I had eight sandwiches worth of crust and the heels of the loaf left that normal people would just throw out. 

I may be Ordinary, but I’m not normal. Waste not want not, so I turned all that extra peanutbuttery bread into bread pudding. It only takes a few ingredients to make and I bet you have all of them in your cabinets already. (bread, eggs, milk, sugar, cinnamon, vanilla extract, and anything else you feel like throwing in like fruit or spices.)

Success! First time making bread pudding in my life and its really good! Honestly its a bit eggy (I dont think I had enough bread to match the recipe) and it didn’t completely wow me, but I already have ideas going for ways to boost the flavor and make it special. I need to start thinking of other things I could use leftover bread crusts with now that Uncrustables are becoming a staple. 

According to My Fitness Pal, the recipe I used can serve 10 people for 250 calories each. I know the recipe isn’t exactly since my bread was just peanutbuttery crusts, but I’ll go with that since I know I’ll have way more than 10 servings, which only brings each portion down more. I always prefer to overestimate my calories than underestimate and wonder why I’m not seeing the progress I want. 

It doesn’t seem very fancy, but its pretty awesome having grabbable lunches every day. Hopefully next time I cook I’ll have my new food prep buddy to help out! 

Leave a Reply

