Motivation · Running

Friday Updates 05/27/16

Disney 1/2 Marathon is 3 months away and I feel like I haven’t added any distance the last two months. I know in my head that little fast runs can very easily translate to long slow runs, but 13 miles is still a lot of miles. I keep telling myself its easier than high-school (16min miles will still get a finishing metal) but Ive been training with a friend on the other side of the country for this and as silly as it sounds, I don’t want to make us walk any part of it unless she also needs to walk part of it. Gotta be strong!

I have my first race next weekend. The Lincoln Park Zoo 10k. I’ll probably finish in about an hour thirty. Im a little nervous because I’m going alone and Ive never actually ran anything officially before. Im more excited than nervous because I’ll get to meet plenty of new people, and its a chip timed event so I’ll have real race data to add to my training tracking.

What I did this week:
I have been under a lot of stress at work, so my workouts have been sporadic and unimpressive. I jog/walked a couple miles on Monday. Repeated on Tuesday for data. Wednesday was my impromptu rest day when I took my boyfriend out for a nice carby dinner. (I had pork chops. Hashtag protein?)
Yesterday I finally went to lulumon’s run group in Wicker Park. Followed by taking myself out to Jeni’s Darkest Chocolat because there was no official Afters this week.

Plan for today:
-Taking it easy at work. I’ll probably knock out a few sets of incline push ups, but after how my run felt yesterday I definitely want to give my legs a chance to recover before my weekend runs. Standing desk is taking its toll.
-Arm at home. Im still obsessed with building arm muscles to prepare for my future tattoo so I’ll get to work with my dumbbells. The slackalacking is real and I need to cut that out.
-Meal Planning. I have a new meal prep buddy and we’re getting together on Sunday again. Now I just have to figure out what the hell we’re going to make this week.

Updates to come:
Incline Pushups at a work: 50. updated at 4:30pm
At Home Dumbbells: Nada – But I did complete Darebee’s Daily Dare of 20 Pike Push Ups. Updated at 10pm
Meal Plan: This, along with photo editing, took up the majority of my night. Next week’s meals will be Meatloaf, Mashed Potato w/ Cauliflower, Stuffed Peppers, Baked Potato Skins, Simple Stir Fry, and of course more Granola. Updated at 10pm

Leave a Reply

